If you liked THE BETRAYALS...

Por Bridget Collins

Por Bridget Collins

...you might like to try these. Some of them inspired The Betrayals, directly or indirectly; some of them have similar themes or settings (or, ahem, authors - sorry, I couldn't resist); and some are 'wild cards', which might not seem relevant at first glance but sound, somewhere, a common note. Enjoy.  

The Betrayals

Bridget Collins

14,99 € 13,94 €

OK, so you've read it already, but just look at it - that gorgeous dustjacket, the endpapers, the tooled boards! - and maybe even stroke it gently... Now, who do you know who'd like one for Christmas?

The Glass Bead Game

Hermann Hesse

10,99 € 10,22 €

If you're just picking one from this list, then this should be it. An odd, academic, endlessly thought-provoking masterpiece.

The Gormenghast Trilogy

Mervyn Peake

19,98 € 18,58 €

This monumental piece of literature is gothic, weird, and utterly epic. There's something Dickensian about it, but with a grotesque, alien edge - Gormenghast sprawls, impossibly infinite, a world that you can truly get lost in. (Pro tip: look up 'pranking' before you start.)

The Luzhin Defense

Vladimir Nabokov

9,99 € 9,29 €

Nabokov's brilliant story of a chess player and his obsession with the game.

The Secret History: From the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Goldfinch

Donna Tartt

8,99 € 8,36 €

I wish I could read this again for the first time - clever, gripping and poetic, the story of a murder at a college in New England, with overtones of a Greek tragedy.

The Bell

Iris Murdoch

10,99 € 10,22 €

Love affairs, awakenings, soul-searching, scandal at a Christian community in the shadow of a convent - plus it's Iris Murdoch. What's not to like?

Invisible Cities

Italo Calvino

8,99 € 8,36 €

Like a riddle, a maze of mirrors or a labyrinth, a series of prose poems interweave around their heart: Venice. Weaver's translation is perfect.

Fictions

Jorge Luis Borges

8,99 € 8,36 €

A world of imaginary novels, invisible labyrinths, infinite objects... Borges' profoundly evocative short stories are as readable as they are witty and beautiful.

The Mandibles: A Family, 2029-2047

Lionel Shriver

8,99 € 8,36 €

And another one - I would have loved to recommend Shriver's Double Fault; but here (as always) her acerbic intelligence excels at depicting a world on the edge of dissolution, and making it impossible for us to look away.