What We're Reading

Por Village Books Dulwich

Por Village Books Dulwich

We love giving recommendations so thought that we would share with you just a few of books that we have been enjoying recently. Between us all, we read widely and abundantly so there should be something for everyone!

The See-Through House: My Father in Full Colour

Shelley Klein

9,99 € 9,29 €

Tracey has been reading The See-Through House, in which Shelley Klein revisits her architectural family home in Scotland to care for her irascible designer father. It is a moving memoir about belonging and the pain of letting go.

Checkout 19

Claire-Louise Bennett

14,99 € 13,94 €

Josie has been reading Checkout 19 by Claire-Louise Bennett, in which a woman revisits the moments that shaped her life. A raw and immersive read, this is a highly imaginative and compelling work of auto-fiction.

Dial A For Aunties

Jesse Sutanto

8,99 € 8,36 €

Hannah has just raced through Dial A for Aunties, a hilarious black comedy in which Meddy Chan accidentally kills her blind date and must turn to her aunties for help. Perfect for fans of My Sister the Serial Killer.

The Man Who Died Twice

Richard Osman

18,98 € 17,65 €

Hazel read The Man Who Died Twice and loved it, and now Tracey is reading it and loving it! The follow-up to his bestselling The Thursday Murder Club, Osman's new book involves stolen diamonds, a violent mobster, and an increasing body count.

Fireborn: Twelve and the Frozen Forest

Aisling Fowler

12,99 € 12,08 €

Hazel has been reading Fireborn by Aisling Fowler, a fantasy novel perfect for ages 9+. Set in the snowy northern forests of an imagined prehistoric world, Fireborn is an epic adventure story about the search for a missing girl.

The Border - A Journey Around Russia: SHORTLISTED FOR THE STANFORD DOLMAN TRAVEL BOOK OF THE YEAR 2020

Erika Fatland

12,99 € 12,08 €

Hannah, our resident Russophile, has been reading The Border by Erika Fatland, a compelling chronicle of the culture, people, landscapes, and histories of the countries bordering Russia.

The Transgender Issue: An Argument for Justice

Shon Faye

20,00 € 18,60 €

Ella has been reading Shon Faye's illuminating and important book The Transgender Issue, which uncovers the reality of what it means to be trans in a transphobic society.

Piranesi: WINNER OF THE WOMEN'S PRIZE 2021

Susanna Clarke

8,99 € 8,36 €

Ella has been reading the winner of the Women's Prize for Fiction, Piranesi by Susanna Clarke, a fantasy in which Piranesi's solitary world in his labyrinthine house is unexpectedly disrupted.

What Artists Wear

Charlie Porter

14,99 € 13,94 €

Hannah loved What Artists Wear by Charlie Porter, a fascinating journey through the wardrobes of artists. Liberally illustrated with gorgeous photography, this is a brilliantly written, beautiful book.